top of page
Rechtliche Grundlagen

Useful Information

Legal Basics

PERSONAL STATUS ACT AND

NAME RIGHTS

Unfortunately, the deterrent terms such as stillbirth and miscarriage are used in the law.

A stillborn child over 500g gets a birth certificate (and a death certificate) and has been recognized as a 'person'. Since 2013, parents have also been able to enter stillborn children under 500g in the register if they wish, and the parents will receive a name certificate from the registry office. 

The registry office in whose area of responsibility the miscarriage took place must be visited.

The registry office issues a certificate to the parents in which the misborn child/children are recorded with the intended first and last name, sex, date of birth and place of birth. The certificate issued by the registry office thus includes the essential data that the birth certificate would have contained. This certificate can also be issued retrospectively, even if the loss was years ago. A certificate from the doctor or midwife about a miscarriage or the maternity pass must be presented at the registry office. (Source: http://initiative-regenbogen.de/namensrecht.html from October 21, 2019)

Since the change in the law in 2018, not only the 500g limit applies, but also the achievement of the 24th week of pregnancy as a delimitation. Children who weigh less than 500 g but are still born in the 24th week of pregnancy are also recognized as individuals. It is therefore a stillbirth when the child has reached the end of the 24th week of pregnancy. 

Children who are part of a multiple birth (e.g. twins) and died with at least one child alive are to be certified in the same way as the living children. The parents of these children receive an official birth and death certificate from the registry office for the family book.

FUNERAL ACT (NRW)

Burial law is the responsibility of the individual federal states.

There is no burial obligation for miscarriages in North Rhine-Westphalia. There is a burial obligation for stillbirths as well as children born alive from 500g. At the request of the parents, their own children from a miscarriage or stillbirth can be buried regardless of their weight (burial rights). This also applies to abortions. Furthermore, there is a legal obligation (e.g. by hospitals) to inform parents about their right to a burial. If the parents do not exercise their right to burial, stillbirths and miscarriages are to be collected and buried under dignified conditions. The institution bears the costs.

Once or twice a year, many hospitals offer the joint burial of miscarriages in a star child burial site, to which the parents and their relatives are also invited.

MATERNITY PROTECTION

The deterrent terms such as stillbirth and miscarriage are also used as a distinction in maternity leave.

Mothers who had a stillbirth (the child weighed more than 500 g or completed the 24th week of pregnancy) or whose child died immediately after birth are entitled to maternity leave. 

A miscarriage is not considered a birth in the legal sense, so there is no maternity protection for women whose child died before the 24th week of pregnancy or whose child weighed less than 500g. There are therefore no protection periods for mothers who have a miscarriage or an abortion. 

Since 2018 there has been a statutory protection against dismissal of 4 months for mothers whose miscarriage occurred after the 12th week of pregnancy. The law wants to take into account the situation and grief of the mothers.

If a miscarriage or an abortion is associated with mental and physical stress that results in an inability to work, this must be certified by a doctor. Instead of the regulations on continued payment of wages under maternity leave, the regulations on continued payment of wages in the event of illness or sick pay from statutory health insurance apply.

MIDWIFE AFTERCARE

Many pregnant women are often unaware that they are entitled to a midwife if they know about the pregnancy. Mothers with statutory health insurance who have had a miscarriage or a stillbirth also have the right to follow-up care by a midwife. Unfortunately, this right is hardly mentioned.

Literatur

References

Fezer-Schadt, Kathrin and Erhardt-Seidel, Carolin: carry on.

Pathways to prenatal diagnosis 

 

Salzburg 2018

Frömel-Scheumann, Miriam: 

Shine bright - Little Star. The Star Child Memory Book 

 

Butzbach 2017

Heine, Hannah

Marie and Vöhringer, Katharina: 

leni and the mourning puddles 

 

Cologne 2017

Hillebrand, Petra: 

Fly, smaller 

butterfly 

 

Innsbruck 2019

Lothrop, Hannah: 

Good Hope -

abrupt end

Munich 2016

shoveler, Nicole: 

I was pregnant yesterday

 

Salzburg 2014

Wolter, Heike: 

Mein  Sternenkind

 

Salzburg 2012

Wolter, Heike: 

My subsequent pregnancy 

 

Salzburg 2010

A very extensive media list sorted by

Initiative REGENBOGEN 

Links
feder.png

Links

REGENBOGEN INITIATIVE

For parents who want their child before, while or shortly after

lost at birth

 

VEID

Federal association of orphaned parents and grieving siblings in Germany

 

FEDERAL ASSOCIATION OF MOURNING COMPANION

Umbrella organization for bereavement support in Germany

Representation of interests and mouthpiece for mourners and those accompanying bereavement

and people in teaching and research on grief

 

ORPHAN PARENTS WESEL

Self-help group for Wesel and the surrounding area

 

HOPE'S ANGEL

Help and support for families and professionals

in case of miscarriage birth, termination of pregnancy

and neonatal death

 

YOUR STARCHILD

Photographer Kai Gebel | The first and the last picture

Trauerbegleiter

grief counselor

A WORKBOOK

The bereavement companion is free of charge for the participants of the "Star Children Duisburg" self-help group and can be sent by post during the Corona crisis, stating the address.

© Nicole Baden
Weltgedenktage

International Days of Remembrance

15. OKTOBER

t

PREGNANCY AND INFANT LOSS REMEMBRANCE

DAY

 Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day 

October 15 is an international day of remembrance for children who died during pregnancy, childbirth or shortly after childbirth. 

2. SONNTAG IM

DEZEMBER

t

WORLDWIDE CANDLE LIGHTING

Worldwide Candle Lighting 

On the 2nd Sunday of Advent, parents around the world who have lost a child place a lit candle in their window at 7 p.m.As the candles are extinguished in one time zone, they are lit in the next, so that a wave of light surrounds the entire world for 24 hours.

Every light in the window represents the knowledge that these children brightened life and that they will never be forgotten. The light also stands for the hope that the grief will not let the lives of the relatives remain dark forever. The light builds bridges from one affected person to another, from one family to another, from one house to another, from one city to another, from one country to another. It assures those affected of solidarity among themselves. It warms the cold life a little and will spread like the first ray of sunshine in the morning.

bottom of page

Wissenswertes

t

Rechtliche Grundlagen

PERSONENSTANDSGESETZ UND

NAMENSRECHT

Im Gesetz werden leider die abschreckenden Begriffe wie Totgeburt und Fehlgeburt benutzt.

Ein totgeborenes Kind über 500g bekommt eine Geburtsurkunde (und einen Totenschein) und wurde als „Person“ anerkannt. Seit 2013 dürfen Eltern auf Wunsch auch still geborene Kinder unter 500g in das Stammbuch eintragen und die Eltern erhalten eine Namensbescheinigung vom Standesamt. 

Es muss das Standesamt aufgesucht werden, in dessen Zuständigkeitsbereich die Fehlgeburt erfolgte.

Das Standesamt stellt den Eltern eine Bescheinigung aus, in der das fehlgeborene Kind / die fehlgeborenen Kinder mit vorgesehenem Vor- und Familiennamen, Geschlecht, Geburtstag und Geburtsort erfasst werden. Die vom Standesamt ausgestellte Bescheinigung umfasst damit die wesentlichen Daten, die auch die Geburtsurkunde enthalten hätte. Diese Bescheinigung kann auch nachträglich erstellt werden, selbst wenn der Verlust bereits Jahre zurückliegen sollte. Im Standesamt muss eine Bescheinigung des Arztes oder der Hebamme über eine Fehlgeburt oder der Mutterpass vorgelegt werden. (Quelle: http://initiative-regenbogen.de/namensrecht.html vom 21.10.2019)

Seit der Gesetzesänderung im Jahr 2018 gilt nicht mehr nur die 500g-Grenze, sondern auch zusätzlich die Erreichung der 24. SSW als Abgrenzung. So werden auch Kinder, die zwar unter 500g wiegen, aber erst in der 24. SSW still geboren werden, ebenfalls als Person anerkannt. Es handelt sich daher um eine Totgeburt, wenn das Kind die vollendete 24. SSW erreicht hat. 

Kinder, die Teil einer Mehrlingsgeburt (z.B. Zwillinge) sind und verstarben, bei dem mindestens ein Kind lebt, sind wie die lebenden Kinder zu beurkunden. Die Eltern dieser Kinder bekommen eine offizielle Geburts- und Sterbeurkunde vom Standesamt für das Familienbuch.

BESTATTUNGSGESETZ (NRW)

Das Bestattungsrecht ist in der Verantwortung der einzelnen Bundesländer.

Für die Fehlgeburten gibt es in Nordrhein-Westfalen keine Bestattungspflicht. Für Totgeburten wie auch lebend geborene Kinder ab 500g gibt es eine Bestattungspflicht. Auf Wunsch der Eltern dürfen vom Gewicht unabhängig die eigenen Kinder aus einer Fehl- oder Totgeburt bestattet werden (Bestattungsrecht). Dies gilt auch für Schwangerschaftsabbrüche. Weiterhin gibt es eine gesetzliche Hinweispflicht (z.B. von Krankenhäusern) auf das elterliche Bestattungsrecht. Wenn die Eltern ihr Bestattungsrecht nicht wahrnehmen, sind Tot- und Fehlgeburten unter würdigen Bedingungen zu sammeln und zu bestatten. Die Kosten trägt der Träger der Einrichtung.

Viele Krankenhäuser bieten ein- bis zweimal im Jahr die gemeinsame Bestattung der Fehlgeburten auf einer Sternenkindergrabstätte an, zu denen auch die Eltern und deren Angehörigen eingeladen werden.

MUTTERSCHUTZ

Die abschreckenden Begriffe wie Totgeburt und Fehlgeburt werden auch beim Mutterschutz als Unterscheidung benutzt.

Mütter, die eine Totgeburt (Gewicht des Kindes ab 500g oder vollendete 24. SSW) hatten oder deren Kind direkt nach der Geburt starb, haben ein Anrecht auf Mutterschutz. 

Eine Fehlgeburt gilt im rechtlichen Sinne nicht als Geburt, daher gibt es keinen Mutterschutz für Frauen, deren Kind vor der 24. SSW verstarb oder unter 500g wog. Es gibt daher keine Schutzfristen bei Müttern, die eine Fehlgeburt oder einen Schwangerschaftsabbruch haben. 

Seit 2018 gibt es einen gesetzlichen Kündigungsschutz von 4 Monaten für Mütter, deren Fehlgeburt nach der 12. SSW eintrat. Das Gesetz möchte damit die Situation und Trauer der Mütter berücksichtigen.

Ist eine Fehlgeburt oder ein Schwangerschaftsabbruch mit seelischen und körperlichen Belastungen verbunden, die eine Arbeitsunfähigkeit zur Folge haben, ist dies ärztlich zu bescheinigen. Statt der Regelungen über die mutterschutzrechtliche Entgeltfortzahlung gelten die Regelungen über die Entgeltfortzahlung im Krankheitsfall bzw. zum Krankengeld der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung.

HEBAMMENNACHSORGE

Vielen Schwangeren ist oft nicht bewusst, dass sie mit Wissen um die Schwangerschaft ein Anrecht auf eine Hebamme haben. Auch gesetzlich versicherte Mütter, die eine Fehlgeburt oder eine stille Geburt hatten, haben das Recht auf eine Nachsorge durch eine Hebamme. Leider wird auf dieses Recht kaum hingewiesen.

 

Literaturhinweise

t

Fezer-Schadt, Kathrin und Erhardt-Seidel, Carolin: Weitertragen.

Wege nach pränataler Diagnose 

 

Salzburg 2018

Frömel-Scheumann, Miriam: 

Leuchte hell – Kleiner Stern. Das Sternenkind-Erinnerungsbuch 

 

Butzbach 2017

Heine, Hannah

Marie und Vöhringer, Katharina: 

Leni und die Trauerpfützen 

 

Köln 2017

Hillebrand, Petra: 

Flieg, kleiner 

Schmetterling 

 

Innsbruck 2019

Lothrop, Hannah: 

Gute Hoffnung –

jähes Ende

München 2016

Schäufler, Nicole: 

Gestern war ich noch schwanger

 

Salzburg 2014

Wolter, Heike: 

Mein Sternenkind

 

Salzburg 2012

Wolter, Heike: 

Meine Folgeschwangerschaft 

 

Salzburg 2010

Eine sehr umfangreiche und nach Themen sortierte Medienliste gibt es bei der

Initiative REGENBOGEN „Glücklose Schwangerschaft“ e.V. 

 

Links

t

INITIATIVE REGENBOGEN

Für Eltern, die ihr Kind vor, während oder kurz nach

der Geburt verloren haben

 

VEID

Bundesverband Verwaiste Eltern und trauernde Geschwister in Deutschland

 

BUNDESVERBAND TRAUERBEGLEITUNG

Dachverband für Trauerbegleitung in Deutschland

Interessenvertretung und Sprachrohr für Trauernde, Trauerbegleitende

und Menschen in Lehre und Forschung zu Trauer

 

VERWAISTE ELTERN WESEL

Selbsthilfegruppe für Wesel und Umgebung

 

HOPE´S ANGEL

Hilfe und Unterstützung für Familien und Fachkräfte

bei Fehlgeburt, stiller Geburt, Schwangerschaftsabbruch

und Neugeborenentod

 

DEIN STERNENKIND

Fotograf Kai Gebel | Das erste und das letzte Bild

 

Trauerbegleiter

t

EIN ARBEITSHEFT

Der Trauerbegleiter ist für die Teilnehmenden der Selbsthilfegruppe "Sternenkinder Duisburg" kostenfrei und kann in der Corona-Krise unter der Angabe der Adresse per Post zugesendet werden.

© Nicole Baden
 

Internationale Gedenktage

t

15. OKTOBER

t

PREGNANCY AND INFANT LOSS REMEMBRANCE

DAY

2. SONNTAG IM

DEZEMBER

t

WORLDWIDE CANDLE LIGHTING

 Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day 

Der 15. Oktober ist ein internationaler Gedenktag an Kinder, die während der Schwangerschaft, unter der Geburt oder kurz nach der Geburt verstorben sind. 

Worldwide Candle Lighting 

Am 2. Sonntag im Advent stellen Eltern, die ein Kind verloren haben, rund um die ganze Welt um 19 Uhr eine brennende Kerze in ihr Fenster. Während die Kerzen in der einen Zeitzone erlöschen, werden sie in der nächsten entzündet, so dass eine Lichterwelle 24 Stunden die ganze Welt umringt.

Jedes Licht im Fenster steht für das Wissen, dass diese Kinder das Leben erhellt haben und dass sie nie vergessen werden. Das Licht steht auch für die Hoffnung, dass die Trauer das Leben der Angehörigen nicht für immer dunkel bleiben lässt. Das Licht schlägt Brücken von einem betroffenen Menschen zum anderen, von einer Familie zur anderen, von einem Haus zum anderen, von einer Stadt zur anderen, von einem Land zum anderen. Es versichert Betroffenen die Solidarität untereinander. Es wärmt ein wenig das kalt gewordene Leben und wird sich ausbreiten, wie es ein erster Sonnenstrahl am Morgen tut.